Welcome

                            Welcome to 2017- 2018 School Year

Welcome to Sister Taroub’s 7th grade (Course II)  and 8th grade (Course III) classes!

Week 17: Monday, December 11,2017 – Friday, December 15,2017:

Days to Remember:

Monday, December 11,2017.: Boards are due with written materials and references.

Tuesday,December 12,2017MATH FAIR PRESENTATIONS.

7th Grade (Course II): Tuesday,Dec 12: Quiz lesson 11.6 Solving Inequalities by Multiplying or Dividing.

7th Grade (Course II): Thursday Dec 14: Quiz lessons (11.4-11.7) Inequalities, and Solving Inequalities.

8th Grade (Course III): Wednesday,Dec 13: Quiz lessons (2.4-2.5) Functions, and Equations, Tables, and Graphs.

8th Grade (Course III): Friday,Dec 15: Test Chapter 2 Graphs and Functions.

Week 16: Monday, December 4,2017 – Friday, December 8,2017:

Wednesday, December 6,2017: Early Release at 11:45 AM.
Thursday, November 9,2017: Math Fair Project was assigned.
Monday, December 11,2017.: Boards are due with written materials and references

Tuesday,December 12,2017MATH FAIR PRESENTATIONS.

8th Grade (Course III): Friday,Dec 8: Quiz lessons (2.1-2.3) Ordered Pairs, Graphing on a coordinate Plane, and Interpreting Graphs.

7th Grade (Course II): Wednesday,Dec 6: Quiz lessons (11.1-11.2) Multi-Step Equations.

Week 15: Monday, November 27,2017 – Friday, December 1,2017:

I hope everyone enjoyed their Fall Break!

Image result for Second Quarter Interim Report

Friday,December 1,2017: Second Quarter Interim Report Goes Home!

8th Grade (Course III): Wednesday,Nov 29: Quiz lessons (8-5,8-6) Direct Variation and Solving Systems of Linear Equations by Graphing.

8th Grade (Course III): Friday,Dec 1: Test Chapter 8 Graphing Lines.

Week 14: Monday, November 20,2017 – Friday, November 24,2017:

Thursday,November 23,2017 – Friday,November 24,2017: No School, Fall Break!

I hope everyone enjoyed their Fall Break.

7th Grade (Course II): Tuesday,Nov 21: Test Chapter 3B Applying Rational numbers (Fractions).

Tuesday,Nov 21: Quiz lessons (8.1-8.4) Slope of a Line, Using Slopes and Intercepts.

Week 13: Monday, November 13,2017 – Friday, November 17,2017:

7th Grade (Course II): Friday,Nov 17: Quiz lessons (3.5-3.8) Adding, Subtracting, Multiplying, Dividing, and Solving Equations Containing Fractions.

Week 12: Monday, November 6,2017 – Friday, November 10,2017:

Sunday, November 5,2017: Daylight Saving Time ends. Don’t forget to set the clock back one hour. Hope you enjoy your extra hour of sleep!

Tuesday, November 8,2017: Early Release at 11:45 AM.

7th Grade (Course II): Tuesday,Nov 7: Test Chapter 3A Applying Rational Numbers (Decimals).

 

Week 11: Monday, October 30,2017 – Friday, November 3,2017:

Monday, October 30, 2017: No School. Teacher Work Day!

Friday, November 3, 2017: 1st Quarter Report Cards Go Home.

7th Grade (Course II): Wednesday,Nov 1: Quiz lessons (3.1-3.4) Adding, Subtracting, Multiplying, Dividing Decimals, and Solving Equations Containing Decimals.

Week 10: Monday, October 23,2017 – Friday, October 27,2017:

Friday, October 27,2017: End of 1st  Quarter

end of quarter 1

This Friday will be the End of the First Quarter. Any students who are having missing work, should turn in ALL assignments by Friday. NO work will be accepted after Friday.

8th Grade (Course III): Tuesday,Oct 24: Test Chapter 7 Multi-Step Equations.

Week 9: Monday, October 16,2017 – Friday, October 20,2017:

7th Grade (Course II): Tuesday,Oct 17: Test Chapter 2 Integers and Rational Numbers.

8th Grade (Course III): Thursday,Oct 19: Quiz Chapter 7 Multi-Step Equations.

Week 8: Monday, October 9,2017 – Friday, October 13,2017:

7th Grade (Course II): Friday,Oct 13:  Quiz lessons (2.6-2.7) Equivalent Fractions and Decimals, and Comparing and Ordering Rational Numbers.

Week 7: Monday, October 2,2017 – Friday, October 6,2017:

Monday, October 2,2017: Open House from 5:45 pm – 7:00 pm.

Tuesday,October 3,2017: Early Release at 11:45 AM.

7th Grade (Course II): Thursday,Oct 5, 2017: Quiz lessons (2.1-2.5) Adding, Subtracting, Multiplying, and Dividing Integers, and Solving Equations Containing Integers.

week 6: Monday, September 25,2017 – Friday, September 29,2017:

Friday,September 29,2017: First Quarter Interim Report Goes Home!

Saturday,September 30,2017: Is the 10th of Muharram, (Aashora’a Day).

The Prophet  For fasting the day of ‘Aashora’a said,”Fasting the day of ‘Arafah I hope Allaah will expiate thereby for the year before it and the year after it, and fasting the day of ‘Aashora’a, I hope Alah will expiate thereby for the year that came before it.” Narrated by [Muslim], and he said : “When the following year comes, Alah willing, we shall fast on the ninth.”

8th Grade (Course III): Monday,September 25,2017: Test Chapter 1 Rational Numbers.

week 5: Monday, September 18,2017 – Friday, September 22,2017:

8th Grade (Course III): Thursday,September 21: Quiz lessons (1.5-1.6) Solving Equations with Rational Numbers, and Solving Two-Step Equations.

7th Grade (Course II):Tuesday,September 19,2017: test Chapter 1 Algebraic Reasoning.

week 4:Monday, September 11,2017 – Friday, September 15,2017:

Monday,September 11,2017: Fall 2017 Math Map Testing.​

8th Grade (Course III): Friday,September 15: Quiz lessons (1.1-1.4) Multiplying, Dividing, Adding, and Subtracting Rational Numbers.

7th Grade (Course II): Friday,September 15: Quiz lessons (1.3-1.5) Variables and Algebraic Expressions, and Simplifying Algebraic Expressions.

Week 3: Monday, September 4,2017- Friday September 8,2017:

Monday, September 4,2017- Wednesday September 6,2017: No School. Eid Al Adha.

7th Grade (Course II): Friday,September 8, 2017: Quiz lessons (1.1-1.2) Order of Operations, and Properties of Numbers.

Week 2: Monday, August 28,2017 – Friday, September 1,2017:

Thursday, August 31,2017: No School. Day of Arafa.

The Prophet Mohammed, upon whom be peace, said:”Fasting on the Day of Arafah absolves the sins for two years: the previous year and the coming year”.

Friday, September 1,2017- Wednesday September 6,2017: No School. Eid Al Adha.

May the Blessing of ALLAH Fill your life with happiness and open all doors of success now and always.

EID MUBARAK, and HAPPY EID.

7th Grade (Course II): Wednesday,Aug 30, 2017: Quiz lessons (1.1-1.2) Order of Operations, and Properties of Numbers.

Week 1: Monday, August 21,2017 – Friday, August 25,2017: 

 

Dear Parents:

I am happy to welcome you to the 2017- 2018 School Year!

I am looking forward to a productive partnership with you to ensure your children can achieve their highest potential. I recognize that in order to be successful in school, our children need support from both the home and school. I know a strong partnership with you will make a great difference in your child’s education. As a partner, I share the responsibility for our children’s success and want you to know that I will do my very best to carry out my responsibilities. 

I ask that you guide and support your child’s learning by ensuring that he/she:

1) Attends school daily and arrives on time, ready for the day’s learning experience

2) Completes all homework assignments given.

3) Shares school experiences with you so that you are aware of his/her school life.

4) Informs you if he/she needs additional support in any area or subject.

 I am attaching a copy of my classl rules so that you and your child can review them together. If you have any questions about the rules and expectations, please feel free to contact me. It is very important that you and your child are fully informed regarding standards related to appropriate behavior for a safe and productive school year.

If your child should not follow the rules I will notify you immediately.

I thank you for your support and look forward to meeting you.

                                                                                                       Sincerely

                                                                                                       Taroub Aamar

Please click on announcement to check for Classwork, and Homework.

Grading Policy:

I use the Middle School 10 pt. scale for calculating grades:

A: 90-100%

B: 80-89%

C: 70-79%

D: 60-69%

F: Below 60%

FF: failed for violation of attendance